Aug 13, 2019 7:41 PM

Half sisters Jenny Vargas and Roxy Keyfauver.
CCC Ranch's Jenny Vargas and Roxy Keyfauver of Legends Polo Team.

Tulsa Polo Club in Tulsa, Oklahoma, recently hosted a the Great Plains Circuit Women's Challenge and WCT Sunny Hale Legacy Qualifier. This tournament is part of the Mid-Continent Women’s Polo Series and earns players points toward the high-point prize, a beautiful watch from Catena USA.

The tournament kicked off with an opening night dinner at the fabulous Polo Grill in Utica Square in downtown Tulsa, complete with a three-course dinner and wine pairing provided by the nostalgic restaurant.

CCC Ranch's Jenny Vargas riding Isabella.
CCC Ranch's Jenny Vargas riding Isabella.

A nice crowd turned out at Mohawk Park for the event. Miss Rodeo Oklahoma sang the national anthem and the Tulsa Fire Department brought in a fire truck each day that held the American flag.

CCC Ranch won the round-robin tournament with players representing Houston Polo Club (Jenny Vargas), OKC Polo Club (Kelly Coldiron), Fairfield Polo Club (Jessica Keneally) and NWA Polo Club (Noel Dallison). The other participating teams were Turquoise Angels from NWA Polo Club featuring representatives from Chicago (Megan West), Denver (Lacey Sofonovs), St. Louis (Anne Branscum) and Arkansas (Susan Koehler). Legends Polo Team (Legend's Polo Club) came from the Dallas area, including Roxy Keyfauver along with Katie Anderson, Jessica Hotchkiss and Megan Rahlfs. This was the first tournament for Noel Dallison, Jessica Hotchkiss and Megan Rahlfs.

MVP susan koehler
Most Valuable Player, Susan Koehler, pictured with Josh Shelton and Greg Summers.

Halftime showcased a tent pegging demonstration provided by the United States Tent Pegging Federation. Based in Tulsa, the United States Tent Pegging Federation have a worldwide presence. Tent pegging is also an Olympic sport.

Most Valuable Player was awarded to Susan Koehler. Best Playing Pony honors were presented to Rosita, ridden by Jenny Vargas and owned by Don Gruntmeir. The Sportsmanship Award was given to Jessica Hotchkiss.

BPP Rosita
Best Playing Pony, Rosita, ridden by Jenny Vargas and owned by Don Gruntmeir.

Special thanks to Kelly Coldiron, Greg Summers and Susan and Bob Koehler for organizing the event and to Josh Shelton and Greg Summers for officiating.

All photos courtesy ©Skyler Jo.