May 03, 2024 5:45 PM

Jesse, Hayley and Dorothy Bray with Remi
Jesse, Hayley and Dorothy Bray with Remi

Over the past seven years, my involvement with the USPA has been primarily through outdoor Junior Polo (National Youth Tournament Series and Young Player Opportunity) as well as Team USPA. With the recent acquisition of the National Polo Center - Wellington, I am now also working with corporate sponsors for the facility.

I am a fifth generation polo player on my dad’s side of the family. My dad’s family was introduced to polo through the military. My mom, dad, sister and I enjoyed playing together when I was growing up and my dad was running the Outback organization and subsequent Outback league. Some of my favorite polo memories are playing in the World Gym and Linfoot Memorial as kid in Santa Barbara with the Uretz family, going to nationals with SMU and playing the women’s tournament in the desert.

My husband, Jesse Bray, and his dad, Graham, and sister, Mia, play professionally, and my mother-in-law rides-we are surrounded by horses! I don’t have much time to play anymore, but I love riding our homebreds in the desert and jumping into a chukker or two when I can.

I was born in Houston, Texas, but we relocated to Sarasota, Florida, then to Wellington, Florida, soon after for my dad’s job. We traveled around while my dad was playing, spending most summers in Santa Fe, New Mexico, and Santa Barbara, California.

Jesse and I now reside in Wellington, Florida, and Santa Barbara, California, with our baby girl, Dorothy, and a rescue dog, Remi.

I went to Southern Methodist University for college (B.S. Biological Science, B.A. Spanish, minor Chemistry) and absolutely loved it. I have worked exclusively within polo, first with my dad in Wellington, then with him and Melanja Jones in Santa Barbara before coming on with USPA through Amanda Snow.

Growing up, my sister and I had a competition who could play the most sports, so we did them all-lacrosse, tennis, soccer, basketball and softball. I was also a cheerleader throughout middle and high school and went on to cheer at SMU as well.

There are not many hours outside of work and polo in our family, but I love to needlepoint, ski, and host dinner parties. Walking the bluffs in Carpinteria with Remi, and now Dorothy, is another favorite activity of mine. I also try and squeeze in some tennis and paddleboarding when I can. I hope to one day own a ranch and build a ranch house out in Santa Ynez, California.