THE LATEST

NEWS

REGIONAL PRESIDENT’S CUP KICKS-OFF AT SANTA BARBARA POLO & RACQUET CLUB

Sep 13, 2022 7:43 PM

SHARE
BFBST/El Llamado's Juan Curbelo in the Regional President's Cup at Santa Barbara Polo & Racquet Club (SBPRC) at Carpinteria, California.
BFBST/El Llamado's Juan Curbelo in the Regional President's Cup at Santa Barbara Polo & Racquet Club (SBPRC) in Carpinteria, California.

The anticipated 8-goal Regional President’s Cup held its first round of matches at Santa Barbara Polo & Racquet Club (SBPRC) in Carpintaria, California, on Sunday, September 11. Five competitive teams came to participate in this tournament, made from a selection of fresh combinations, returning victors, and new players to SBPRC.

Kick-starting the action, newcomers Big Hitters (Cory Williams, Martin Tassara, Karl Hasz, Tomas Ussher) matched up against FMB Too!/Zahedi Chogan (Henry Walker, Sy Zahedi, Bayne Bossom*, Santiago Wulff). FMB Too!/Zahedi Chogan came alive in the second half to run away with the 11-7 victory.

Big Hitters' Tomas Ussher carries the ball downfield.
Big Hitters' Tomas Ussher carries the ball downfield.

The featured match of the week delighted spectators in a contest between BFBST/El Llamado (Dominque Mielle, Leigh Brecheen, Juan Curbelo, Marcos Llambas) and BenSoleimani.com/Sentinel (Ben Soleimani, Remy Du Celliee Muller*, Jimmy Wright* Andrew Broeren), where BFBST/El Llamado's display of powerful defense and accuracy outlasted their opponents to secure the 13-7 win.

Due to rare rainy weather in Santa Barbara, Saturday’s matches were rescheduled to Wednesday, September 14. Pau Hana/Wild Polo (Phoebe Champion, Lesley Tims, Gustavo “Tavi” Usandizaga, Tomas Alberdi*) will face BenSoleimani.com/Sentinel at 12:00pm PT/3:00pm ET, followed by BFBST/El Llamado against FMB Too!/Zahedi Chogan at 2:00pm PT/5:00pm ET.

BFBST/El Llamado's Dominque Mielle keeps her eyes trained on the ball in mid-air.
BFBST/El Llamado's Dominque Mielle keeps her eyes trained on the ball in mid-air.

The final round of bracket play will take place on Saturday, September 17, featuring Big Hitters versus BenSoleimani.com/Sentinel at 10:00am PT/1:00pm ET, with Pau Hana/Wild Polo facing FMB Too!/Zahedi Chogan to wrap up the doubleheader at 12:00pm PT/3:00pm ET. The Regional President’s Cup will conclude on Sunday, September 18, in a can’t miss match guaranteed to thrill.

*Bayne Bossom is a Graduating Team USPA member. Remy Du Celliee Muller and Jimmy Wright are Team USPA alumni. Team USPA is a USPA program designed to enhance and grow the sport of polo in the United States by identifying young, talented American players and providing mentored training and playing opportunities leading to a pool of higher rated amateur and pro players and the resultant giveback to the sport of polo.

All photos courtesy of ©David Lominska.

USPA

LEARN TO PLAY

Click Here
×

Online shopping is not available in your country

Find Retail Locations