Maryland Polo Club

6:45 PM ET

Melinda's Prospect Farm

Quiet Creek Farm

See All Hide
WATCH NOW: Live Coverage of
WATCH NOW: Live Coverage of

Just Announced!

XII Federation of International Polo World Polo Championship

October 22 - 31, 2021

Hosted by Empire Polo Club (Indio, California)

The United States Polo Association, USPA Global Licensing and Empire Polo Club are pleased to host the XII FIP World Polo Championship in 2021 with the U.S. Polo Assn. as the official apparel sponsor.

FIP is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the worldwide governing body of polo. Federation of International Polo founders Marcos Uranga and Glen Holden recognized the best way for a sport to grow was through international activities and established an international championship as a vital means to that end. The creation of a World Polo Championship—of which there have been eleven so far—has been the most important of the Federation’s keys to success in publicizing the game and creating greater public awareness.

Empire Polo Club

Latest Event Details


All games will be livestreamed on the Global Polo TV to provide fans from all over the world the opportunity to watch the international competition. The final will be broadcast on Eurosport.

Competition is limited to teams rated 10- to 14-goals. The road to this triennial begins with five zone playoffs featuring more than 19 countries that compete for an opportunity to be among one of the eight teams that advance to the World Polo Championship. The zones are: Zone A- North and Central America, Zone B- South America, Zone C- Europe, Zone D- Africa, Asia and Oceania, Zone E – Middle East. The teams competing in the World Polo Championship are the winners from Zones A, B, D, E, the top two teams from Zone C, the previous winner (Argentina) and the host country (USA).

Horses are provided by the host and pooled among participants to give teams equal conditions.

This is the second time the tournament has been held in the United States - the first being in 1998 at the Santa Barbara Polo & Racquet Club in Carpinteria, California.

Check back for additional details closer to the event.

The Venue

Enjoy a five-star polo playing experience at the beautiful Empire Polo Club, located in Indio, California. Fun parties, affordable polo, immaculate fields and a world-class equestrian facility make Empire Polo Club the perfect winter destination for polo players and their families. Boasting 13 grass polo fields, a regulation-sized polo arena, two exercise tracks, both polo and hunter/jumper stabling, the Tack Room Tavern Restaurant and the Date Shed Night Club—Empire Polo Club has something for everyone.

Empire Polo Club’s winter season begins in December with pre-season weekend tournaments. The main season starts in January and continues through the first weekend in April and offers 1-goal, 4-goal and 8-goal leagues. Polo games are open to the public and spectators are invited to attend. Sunday Polo kicks off with Opening Day and Hat Day in early January, with weekly featured matches at 12:00pm and 2:00pm. Tailgating and general admission are free with a $20.00 parking fee. VIP seating is also available for an additional fee.

Empire Polo Club
81800 51st Ave
Indio, CA 92201

Club Website

Club Profile

FIP World Polo Championships


  • 1987 - Argentina (hosted by Argentina)
  • 1989 - USA (hosted by Germany)
  • 1992 - Argentina (hosted by Chile)
  • 1995 - Brazil (hosted by Switzerland)
  • 1998 - Argentina (hosted by USA)
  • 2001 - Brazil (hosted by Australia)
  • 2004 - Brazil (hosted by France)
  • 2008 - Chile (hosted by Mexico)
  • 2011 - Argentina (hosted by Argentina)
  • 2015 - Chile (hosted by Chile)
  • 2017 - Argentina (hosted by Australia)


The 2017 XI FIP World Polo Championship was held at Sydney Polo Club in Sydney, Australia, and included the following teams: Australia, Argentina, Chile, England, India, New Zealand, Spain and USA. During the final, Argentina and Chile battled for the title with Argentina securing a narrow victory 8-7. The Argentina team comprised of Lucio Fernandez Ocampo, Hector Guerrero, Valentin Novillo Astrada and Tomas Panello sought victory over Chile, which included José Ignacio Martinez, José Zegers, Andrés Vial and José Miguel Pereyra.



Click Here

Online shopping is not available in your country

Find Retail Locations